Mission Statement

The Mission of Harbor Dental Society is to promote excellence in Dentistry - serving its members and assisting the dental community in its responsibility to the public.

The Harbor Dental Society was founded on October 6, 1915 by a small study club of ten dentists in the city of Long Beach. Harbor as grown to include over 749 dentists in 28 cities in the Los Angeles Harbor area. The Harbor Dental Society is comprised of local dentists who are members of the American Dental Association (ADA) and the California Dental Association (CDA).

From the beginning, Harbor Dental Society has had a strong commitment to improve the dental health of the communities it serves. Helping to ensure the dental health of all children, the society was a major force in establishing the Children's Dental Health Clinic in 1931, and which is now located near the Long Beach Memorial Medical Center in Long Beach. In the 1950s, the society spearheaded a twenty-year fight for fluoridation in the Long Beach water system, thus ensuring better dental health for children.

The Society promotes the public's health through commitment of member dentists to provide quality oral health care that is accessible to everyone. The Society also promotes the profession of dentistry by enhancing the integrity and ethics of the profession, strengthening the patient/dentist relationship, and making membership the foundation of successful practice.

The Harbor Dental Society fulfills its public and professional mission by providing services and through its initiatives in education, research, advocacy, and the development of standards.

What started as a small study group of dentists has grown to a strong representation of the dental profession in the South Bay-area of Los Angeles. The Harbor Dental Society actively promotes the improvement of public dental health and maintains the highest standards of ethics among our members.

Dental Society Past Presidents

1915-16  Frank B. Damron, DDS

1916-17  A.C. Holladay, DDS

1917-18  Glen C. Burbank, DDS

1918-19  Best, DDS

1919-20  A.H. Speer, DDS

1920-21  Ben Maltby, DDS

1921-22  Albert H. Osbourne, DDS

1922-23  Arthur C. Meigs, DDS

1923-25  Guy E. O’Neil, DDS

1925-26  S. William Sweningsen, DDS

1926-27  George Campbell Chuck, DDS

1927-28  Ralph B. Strong, DDS

1928-29  Ervin C. Read, DDS

1929-30  F. Howard Miller, DDS

1930-31  Frank E. Weld, DDS

1931-32  Russell B. Lichtenwalter, DDS

1932-33  Edna Bartsen Hansen, DDS

1933-34  Gelabert/Erskine Minor, DDS

1934-35  Phillip B. Seymour, DDS

1935-36  B.M. Tylicki, DDS

1936-37  Gordon G. Brown, DDS

1937-38  Blaine C. Wildman, DDS

1938-39  Cecil L. Morehouse, DDS

1939-40  Roy F. Tschumpert, DDS

1940-41  Harold Morris, DDS

1941-42  Walter J. Furie, DDS

1942-43  Robert W. McClain, DDS

1943-44  A.E. Saunders, DDS

1945-46  Garland L. Dummit, DDS

1946-47  Navall R. McCoy, Sr., DDS

1947-48  Theodore E. Peterson, DDS

1948-49  Calvin Garverick, DDS

1949-50  Julius Molina, DDS

1950-51  Gerald Green, DDS

1951-52  Virgil Ridgeway, DDS

1952-53  Max Eshelman, DDS

1953-54  Lawrence Cowan, DDS

1954-55  Morgan Ralls, DDS

1955-56  Floyd Todd, DDS

1956-57  Frank C. Blair, DDS

1957-58  Edwin R. Harvey, DDS

1958-59  Eldor Sagehorn, DDS

1959-60  Jack Wooding, DDS

1960-61  Roland Hansen, DDS

1961-62  Leonard Hyman, DDS

1962-63  W. Howard Davis, DDS

1963-64  Earl A. Hershman, DDS

1964-65  John F.Tylicki, DDS

1965-66  Robert W. Calhoun, DDS

1966-67  John O. Whitaker, DDS

1967-68  John R. Taylor, DDS

1968-69  Herbert I. Benn, DDS

1969-70  John J. Gibson, DDS

1970-71  Foster W. Bens, DDS

1971-72  Martin D. Garron, DDS

1972-73  William Ridgeway, DDS

1973-74  Walter Babcock, DDS

1974-75  Earl M. Donaldson, DDS

1975-76  John P. Lehman, DDS

1976-77  Richard A. Lewis, DDS

1977-78  Albert M. Weil, DDS

1978-79  Raymond M. Sugiyama, DDS

1979-80  Lawrence W. Stark, DMD

1980-81  Joel Lander, DDS

1981-82  Harold Neibling, DDS

1982-83  Eugene Kaplan, DDS

1983-84  Robert F. Emigh, DDS

1984-85  James F. Loos, DDS

1985-86  J. Michael Cahan, DDS

1986-87  Darryl L. Lee, DDS

1987-88  Norman M. Pokras, DDS

1988-89  Lynn A. Fasnacht, DDS

1989-90  Dan Nakamura, DDS

1990-91  Paul L. Liberti, DDS

1991-92  Howard J. Winer, DDS

1992-93  Russell E. Chang, DDS

1993-94  Terrence R. McCarthy, DDS

1994-95  Alyson D. Emery, DDS

1995-96  Mark A. Garlington, DDS

1996-97  Douglas R. Wall, DDS

1997-98  Oscar Domondon, DMD (passed in office) 

1997-98  Michael Marshall, DDS

1998-99  Gary L. Glasband, DDS

1999-00  Charles E. Joseph, DDS

2000-01  Jason M. Yamada, DDS

2001-02  Harry A. Strohmyer, DDS

2002-03  James H. Blake, DDS

2003-04  Larry D. Hall, DDS

2004-05  Belinda L. Balais, DMD

2005-06  Clark A. Izu, DDS

2006-07  Tony T. Chi, DMD

2007-08  Tim Silegy, DDS

2008-09  Simona C. Arcan, DMD, MD

2009-10  Ronald F. Antimarino, DMD

2010-11  George M. Soohoo, DDS

2011-12  Max B. Martinez, DDS

2012-13  William J. Worden, DDS

2013-14  Dora Lee, DDS

2014-15  Ashok Mehta, DDS

2015-16  Ravipan Smith Norman, DDS

2016-17  Ahmed Sadek, DDS

2017-18  Aarti Shah, DDS

2018-19 Santos Cortez, DDS

2019-20 Veronica Greene, DDS, MPH

2021-22 Donna Marie C. Calima, DMD

2023 President Michael Smolen, DDS




Contact Information

IES Website Design & Development

You can contact us via email at , or reach us at the following address:

5401 Business Park South
Bakersfield, CA